SAFEGUARD PROJECT OF GENEALOGICAL DATA AND ARCHIVING OF THE

QUEBEC SOCIETY FROM THE BEGINNING OF COLONIZATION TO TODAY

 

OUR MISSION

 

Patrimoine Québec is a genealogical, demographic and archival project of Quebec society from the beginning of French colonization in America to the present, respecting the Archives Act (A-21.1) and of civil code (art. 144 et ss).

The project consists, at first glance, of creating a database of each individual who, since the beginnings of French colonization in America, have either immigrated or been born in the territory that is now defined by the province of Quebec.

DATABASE « LE FURETEUR »

The database published on the web under the "Le Fureteur" search engine is available free of charge and provides any amateur or expert genealogist with information on individuals to build up a complete genealogy.

The database was assembled by meeting the personal collection of Nico Lefrançois and Jacinthe Demers, administrators of Patrimoine Québec, as well as donations from several genealogy enthusiasts (see:contributors). 

Every day, the "Le Fureteur" database evolves positively; Elimination of duplicates, correction of information, addition of individuals, information, sources and images. It is not meant to be an absolute truth in Quebecois genealogy, but rather a quest for a complete genealogy supported by reliable sources.

SOURCES

Patrimoine Québec operates this project in accordance with the genealogist's code of ethics as described by the Québec Federation of Genealogical Societies.

We place special emphasis on sources and their sources. To do this, we use three categories of source quality to distinguish the reliability of information.

1)    Primary sources: When information is supported by a primary source it is that an act or digitized document is binding and available. No other data can be considered better.

2)    Secndary sources: We use this category when our information was taken from a recognized genealogical reference book that the author drew from primary sources. Cyprien Tanguay's "Genealogical Dictionary of French Canadian Families" and the PRDH Directory of Baptismal, Marriage, Grave and Census Records are examples of secondary sources and can be considered as very reliable sources.

3)    Questionable sources: Grouped primarily under the name "Patrimoine Québec" this source can be considered reliable but needs to be verified and confirmed by a safer source. Usually this source has been reviewed by our data processing team and has been found to be reliable. If you are working on information that has this source category, you can click on the administrator link at the bottom of each page with a single click. Our team will make a point of providing you with a more accurate source whenever possible.

4)    Finally, there is information that does not contain sources. This information has not yet been reviewed by the Heritage Québec team. Although they are mostly reliable, they should be treated with caution. Again, a simple click on the administrator link is enough to make a confirmation request.

We strongly believe in the policy of non-plagiarism in the information contained in our database and consequently we specify the work of the great genealogists of Quebec such as Tanguay, Jetté and others who have worked and deserve that their references be noted. Under no circumstances will Patrimoine Québec appropriate the results of research carried out by authors-genealogists.

INDIVIDUALS AND THEIR HERITAGE

The second mission that Patrimoine Québec has taken is to gather for the first time all documents available in archives, such as parish acts, notarial, judicial, cadastral, photographic and cartographic archives, and link them to each of Individuals that are contained in the "The Browser" database.

In a simple and ergonomic way, any research on an ancestor will be complete and reliable in one page. We can follow the migration of an ancestor in the course of his life and his accumulated family patrimony ... or lost. Thus, more than a simple collection of ancestor names, every genealogical research will be an exploration in time, usages and customs and motivations through the life of our ancestors.

In our way, we safeguard our rich historical heritage and share it at the same time with anyone interested in its history.

PATRIMOINE QUÉBEC, A DIFFERENCE

More than a simple data resource available on the Web, Patrimoine Québec is committed to being interactive with you, both amateur and expert genealogists. We are available at all times to assist you in your research and are constantly working with you to find and add new sources and information to our database so that you can benefit from it and share it with other researchers. A simple click on our administrator link at the bottom of the page is enough!

We encourage you all to scrutinize your roots, to discover your ancestors and their lives, and we try to help you in your research. A successful partnership!

Good research !

Patrimoine Québec team

 

 

Mission Français Contact

 

 

Joignez notre page interactive - Articles, conseils, solutions et échanges

PROJET DE SAUVEGARDE DE DONNÉES GÉNÉALOGIQUES ET D'ARCHIVAGE DE LA SOCIÉTÉ QUÉBÉCOISE DU DÉBUT DE LA COLONISATION À AUJOURD'HUI.

 

NOTRE MISSION

 

Patrimoine Québec est un projet généalogique, démographique et d’archivage de la société québécoise du début de la colonisation française en Amérique jusqu’à aujourd’hui, en respectant la loi sur les archives du Québec (A-21.1) et du code civil (art. 144 et ss).

Le projet consiste de prime abord à constituer une base de données de chaque individu qui, depuis les débuts de la colonisation française en Amérique ont soit immigrés où nés dans le territoire qui est défini maintenant par la province de Québec.

BASE DE DONNÉES « LE FURETEUR »

La base de données éditée sur le web sous le moteur de recherche «Le Fureteur»  est accessible gratuitement et fournit à tout généalogiste amateur ou expert les informations sur des individus permettant de se constituer une généalogie complète.

La base de données a été assemblée par réunion de la collection personnelle de Nico Lefrançois et Jacinthe Gauthier, administrateurs de Patrimoine Québec,  ainsi que par les dons de plusieurs passionnés de généalogie (voir ce lien : contributeurs). 

Chaque jour, la base de données «Le Fureteur» évolue positivement;  élimination de doublons, correction d’informations, ajout d’individus,  d’informations, de sources et d’images. Elle ne se veut pas une vérité absolu en généalogie québécoise mais bien une quête vers une généalogie complète appuyés par des sources sûres.

SOURCES

Patrimoine Québec opère ce projet en accord avec le code de déontologie du généalogiste tel que décrit par la fédération québécoise des sociétés de généalogie.

Nous mettons un accent particulier sur les sources et leurs provenances. Pour ce faire, nous utilisons trois catégories de qualité de sources pour distinguer la fiabilité des informations.

1)    Sources primaires: Quand une information est appuyée par une source primaire c’est qu’obligatoirement un acte ou un document numérisé est lié et disponible. Aucune autre donnée ne peut être considérée comme meilleure.

2)    Sources secondaires: Nous utilisons cette catégorie lorsque nos informations ont été tirés d’un livre de référence généalogique reconnu dont l’auteur a puisé selon des sources primaires. Le « Dictionnaire Généalogiques des familles canadiennes françaises » de Cyprien Tanguay et le Répertoire des actes de baptême, mariage, sépulture et des recensements du Québec ancien du PRDH sont des exemples de sources secondaires et peuvent être considérés comme sources très fiables.

3)    Sources contestables: Regroupés principalement sous le nom de «Patrimoine Québec» cette source peut être considérée comme fiable mais demande à être vérifiée et confirmée par une source plus sûr. Habituellement cette source a été révisée par notre équipe de traitement de données et a été jugée fiable. Si vous travaillez sur une information qui possède cette catégorie de source, vous pouvez par un simple clic faire une demande de confirmation sur le lien de l’administrateur qui se trouve en bas de chaque page.  Notre équipe se fera un devoir de vous fournir dans la mesure du possible une source plus exacte.

4)    Finalement, il y a les informations qui ne contiennent pas de sources.  Ces informations n’ont pas encore fait l’objet d’une révision de la part de l’équipe de Patrimoine Québec. Bien qu’elles soient pour la plupart fiables, elle doivent être considérées avec précautions.  Encore une fois, un simple clic sur le lien de l’administrateur suffit pour faire une demande de confirmation.

Nous croyons ardemment à la politique du non-plagiat dans les informations contenues dans notre base de données et conséquemment, nous spécifions les travaux des grands généalogistes québécois tel que Tanguay, Jetté et autres qui ont travaillés et qui méritent que leurs références soit notés. En aucun cas, Patrimoine Québec s'approprie le résultat de recherches effectués par des auteurs-généalogistes.

LES INDIVIDUS ET LEURS PATRIMOINES

La seconde mission que Patrimoine Québec s’est donné est de réunir pour la première fois,  tous les documents disponibles en archive  tels que les actes paroissiaux, les actes notariés, judiciaires, cadastrales ainsi que les archives photographiques et cartographiques et les relier à chacun des individus impliqués qui sont contenus dans la base de données «Le Fureteur».

De façon simple et ergonomique, toute recherche sur un ancêtre se voudra complète et fiable en une seule page. On pourra suivre la migration d’un ancêtre au courant de sa vie et son patrimoine familial accumulé … ou perdu. Ainsi,  plus qu’une simple collecte de noms d’ancêtres, chaque recherche généalogique se voudra une exploration dans le temps, des us et coutumes et des motivations au travers de la vie de nos aïeux.

À notre manière, nous sauvegardons notre patrimoine historique si riche et le partageons par la même occasion à toutes personnes intéressées par son histoire.

PATRIMOINE QUÉBEC, UNE DIFFÉRENCE

Plus qu’une simple ressource de données disponible sur le web, Patrimoine Québec se donne comme mission d’être interactif avec vous, généalogiste tant amateur qu’expert.  Nous sommes disponibles en tout temps pour vous aider dans vos recherches et travaillons constamment de concert avec vous à trouver et ajouter de nouvelles sources et informations à notre base de données  pour que vous puissiez en bénéficier et pour le partager à d’autres chercheurs. Un simple clic sur notre lien en bas de page administrateur suffit !

Nous vous encourageons donc tous à scruter vos racines, à y découvrir vos ancêtres et leurs vies et nous nous employons pour notre part à vous aider dans vos recherches; un partenariat de réussite !

Bonne recherche !

L’Équipe de Patrimoine Québec

 

 

 

 

 

Joignez notre page interactive - Articles, conseils, solutions et échanges